Management staff

Show all parts of this guide

1. Corporate Leadership Team

The Corporate Leadership Team (CLT) is currently under review following the departure of the Chief Executive. This page will be updated when confirmed. The details below covers the period up until 9 June 2017.

The Corporate Leadership Team (CLT) is the main officer decision making body and works advising and supporting the councillors you elect to run our services, such as waste collection, street cleaning, parks, play areas, leisure, tourism, housing services, economic development and regeneration, planning and more.

The CLT is made up of the Chief Executive and Business Leads. It meets every two weeks and is responsible and accountable for:

  • managerial leadership and direction of the council
  • putting into action Executive policy direction and decisions made by the elected councillors of the council's Executive and Full Council and the delivery of the Council Plan and Administration priorities. 
  • the development of corporate policy and strategy for consideration by councillors and partners
  • professional advice and guidance to elected members
  • co-ordination and commissioning of council-wide activity, business planning, programme management to deliver top quality local services within budget and to deadline.

The Business Leads head up business groupings of services and are responsible for the cost, quality and productivity of those services. One Business Lead, Phil Shears, is also Deputy Chief Executive.

Each Business Lead is responsible for driving forward key priorities of the council and major projects and provides the expertise and capacity to deliver frontline services and Council Plan priorities while reducing overhead and management costs.

The business areas are supported by six Business Managers (BMs) and the Head of the Devon Building Control Partnership (DB CP). Business Managers are operational managers of services and report to their respective Business Leads or the Chief Executive.

The Extended Corporate Leadership Team CELT(E) comprises CLT, the six Business Managers, the Communications Officer, Democratic Services Manager/Monitoring Officer and the Section 151 Officer. The Monitoring Officer and Section 151 Officer are two statutory posts that are required by law. The Section 151 Officer is responsible for the Council's finances, auditing, financial reporting to Members and outside bodies; and the Monitoring Officer is responsible for ensuring that Council decisions are legal and for the provision of independent legal advice to the Council and Members. 

This team leads the work of an estimated 500 staff as they deliver vital local services; co-ordinate with public sector partners, private and voluntary sectors; and represent the interests of Teignbridge on local, regional, national and even international stages.

The focus is on cost, quality, productivity and value for money for all our customers, whether internal or external, through efficient and effective services that maintain our high customer satisfaction levels. Equally importantly, we have identified and seized opportunities to bring together teams with complementary roles and skills to be more streamlined in delivery of the council's business and to offer staff career development and redeployment opportunities.

This ensures we are fit for the future and continue to meet the challenges of reducing resources, increasing customer demands and expectations, working with other organisations and keeps providing the best service and services possible.

By law, senior council staff are not allowed to participate in any party political activity and are expected to advise and assist all councillors irrespective of their political affiliation.

Politically restricted posts fall into two broad categories: Specified posts and sensitive posts.

Those affected are: Head of Paid Service, Statutory Chief Officers, Non-Statutory Chief Officers, Deputy Chief Officers, Monitoring Officer, Chief Finance Officer, officers exercising delegated powers (for example, a planning officer) and assistants to political groups.

'Sensitive' posts are those which give advice on a regular basis to the authority itself (committees, sub committees and the Executive) or post which regularly speaks on behalf of the authority to the media.