February 2018

Show all parts of this page

When this content has been published

Published on 13 February 2018

Plan Teignbridge is nominated for prestigious planning industry award

Our planning team is a finalist in the category for Local Authority Planning Team of the Year at the Royal Town Planning Institute’s (RTPI) Awards for Planning Excellence 2018.


The RTPI Awards are the most established and respected awards in the UK planning industry. Running for over 40 years, they celebrate exceptional examples of planning and the contribution planners make to society.


The Teignbridge planning team are not afraid to break new ground, blazing the trail for others to follow. They demonstrate innovation, diligence and dedication in planning for the future of local communities, fulfilling the requirements of the Local Plan to create ‘Great Places to Live and Work’.


Teignbridge District Council Leader, Councillor Jeremy Christophers, said:


“It’s a huge honour and we’re delighted to be shortlisted for the Best Local Authority Planning Team. As the only district authority, we’re up against stiff competition in the form of London Borough of Croydon, London Borough of Hackney, Rossendale Borough Council and Rotherham Council.


“Being shortlisted is a real tribute to the hard work of the Council in fulfilling its promise to provide great places to live and work, as well as protecting our important landscapes, heritage, wildlife and habitats. Since the adoption of our Local Plan we have transformed the opportunity for people to have a home in Teignbridge.”


John Acres MRTPI, President of the Royal Town Planning Institute said:


“This year’s finalists reflect the important contribution planners and planning makes to creating great places and tackling the challenges we face across the UK. Planners are taking on new and innovative projects and the finalists show they are succeeding. It’s a huge achievement just to be shortlisted this year given the 6% rise in entries to the awards and the high calibre of entries will make judging very difficult.”


The winners will be announced during a ceremony held at Milton Court at The Barbican, London on 24 May 2018.


Andrew Jones MRTPI, Practice Leader Design Planning + Economics, AECOM said:


“AECOM is proud to once again be a headline sponsor of this year’s RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence. The finalists are a diverse mixture of outstanding examples of planning, which demonstrate the breadth of the impact the profession has on quality place making and delivery in the built environment.”


David Jackson MRTPI, Head of Planning, Savills said:


“Savills is delighted to be a headline sponsor of the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence. The finalists reflect the positive impact planning has on our communities and wider society across the UK, Ireland and internationally through exemplary projects, plans and people.”


Tickets to the ceremony are on sale.


The RTPI champions the power of planning in creating prosperous places and vibrant communities. It is the only body in the UK that confers Chartered status to planners, the highest professional qualification sought after by employers. It supports its members – over 25,000 worldwide - throughout their careers.