November 2017

Show all parts of this page

When this content has been published

Published on 20 November 2017

Teignbridge gears up for annual Sports and Community Awards 2017

The stage is set for this year’s glittering Teignbridge Sports and Community Awards and for the first time you can vote on who will be crowned on the night as 2017 People’s Champion.

Returning to the Langstone Cliff Hotel, Dawlish Warren on Friday 1 December, the awards celebrate local sporting success and community projects across the district, recognising athletes, volunteers, sports teams, committee members, coaches, and community champions that go the extra mile to keep Teignbridge active all year round.

In association with main sponsor Kitsons Solicitors and supported by media partners Breeze FM and Mid-Devon Advertiser, the awards see nominations across 12 categories. From those shortlisted in each category, you can vote for your choice as People’s Champion, with the winner announced on the night. You can vote for your People's Champion from 10am, Monday 27 November right up until the night of the awards ceremony.

Popular presenter Ben Moseby is making a welcome return to the event, which will be opened by the event’s headline sponsor and Managing Partner of Kitsons Solicitors, James Cross. There will also be a charity raffle in aid of the Council's Chairman's Charity, which this year has been chosen by Cllr Timothy Golder as the Devon Memory Café Consortium and a ‘Give me five’ donation campaign for the South West Youth Games Charity.

Event organisers are keen to wish all the nominees’ good luck in their categories and thank the sponsors involved with this year’s awards.

Sport, Health and Community Champion – sponsored by Teignbridge Leisure’s Sports Bug Project

  • Carole-Anne Barr – Fit Steps Instructor/Dance/Champions
  • Maria Shelton – Active Mums Ride Leader
  • Teignmouth Thunderbirds – Netball Club

Personal Achievement Award – sponsored by Ripple Events

  • Charley Ellis Belka
  • Ethan Kirby
  • Darren Maynard

Unsung Hero Award – sponsored by Active Devon

  • Glynn Ballman
  • Claire Twitchin

Coach or Manager of the Year – sponsored by Lamars Decorators Ltd

  • Chantelle Cox – Teignbridge Titans Netball Club
  • Matthew Hodgson – Dawlish United U16s Girls Football Club
  • Angela Rimmer – Teignmouth Thunderbirds Netball Club

Community School of the Year – sponsored by Complete Estate Agents

  • Bovey Tracey Primary School
  • Rydon Primary School
  • South Dartmoor Community College

Junior Sportsperson of the Year – sponsored by Seymour Horwell Volvo Specialists

  • Ethan Kirby – Newton Abbot Athletics Club
  • Sam Taylor – South Dartmoor Community College
  • Jack Willis – Teignmouth Surf Life Saving Club

Senior Sportsperson of the Year – sponsored by Bayside Graphics

  • Lauren Dolan – Mid Devon Cycling Club
  • Elliot Fay – Angling
  • Emily Green – Decoy BMX Race Club

Team of the Year – sponsored by Westcountry Services

  • Buckland Athletic Ladies FC
  • Haldon Tug of War Team
  • South Dartmoor Under 15s Cricket Team

Charity or Business Contribution to Sport and/or Community – sponsored by Breeze FM

  • Dartmoor Classic Sportive
  • Firewatch Group
  • Richard’s Wish
  • Sherwoods Ltd

Lifetime Achievement Award – sponsored by Langstone Cliff Hotel

  • Ray Moore – Rotarian and Community Volunteer
  • Iain Palmer – Teignmouth Beach Surf Life Saving Club
  • Richard Parker – Retired teacher and volunteer

Young Persons Services to Sport and/or Community – sponsored by Dartmoor School Sports Partnership

  • Paul Corbiere – Lodge Indoor Skatepark CIO
  • Rob Gale – South Dartmoor Community College
  • Megan Lowe – South Dartmoor Community College

PR and Media in Sports and/or Community Award – sponsored by Mid-Devon Advertiser

  • Georgina Davie – Haldon Tug of War
  • Graydon Widdicombe – Teignbridge Trotters


Cllr Jeremy Christophers, Teignbridge District Council’s Leader said:

“These awards are always a highlight of the Teignbridge calendar, as we come together to celebrate sporting achievement and community champions. It is fantastic to recognise such passion and enthusiasm, which I hope will encourage and inspire other people to get active and support their community. Thank you to all the sponsors involved who play a crucial part in the events success and good luck to everyone on the night.”

James Cross, Managing Partner of Kitsons Solicitors said:

“We are really looking forward to this year’s event, the evening is always inspiring and I am sure this year will be another one to remember. Many of our staff at Kitsons are keen sports people and therefore we like to take the sporting ethos of preparation, commitment and dedication and put those sporting qualities into the way we work. We would like to wish the best of luck to all of this year’s nominees and thank Teignbridge Council for doing this award evening so well.”