Cookies information uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Waste and recycling collections

Some rounds are currently running behind schedule. Please leave your containers out and we will return as soon as we can. 

Draft recommendations for Ogwell Parish

We have been asked by Ogwell Parish Council to consider changing where the parish boundary sits between Ogwell and Newton Abbot. The request from the Parish Council was supported by a valid petition signed by a majority of registered electors who live within the affected area.

The area under consideration includes 31 properties in Bunting Close, 29 properties in Denbury Road (including 11 flats within Conitor House), 23 properties in Larksmead Way, 4 properties in Larksmead Close, 3 properties in Queen Annes Copse and 7 properties in Redstart Close.

We have considered the request to move the parish boundary between Ogwell and Newton Abbot to include these properties within the parish of Ogwell. During the initial consultation stage 13 comments were received from members of the public, all in support of the proposed boundary change. In addition, Newton Abbot Town Council has resolved to support the proposed change to the boundary. Teignbridge District councillors in the wards which may be affected by subsequent consequential changes to the district boundaries raised no objections and three of the four district councillors expressed their support for the proposed change. Devon County Council was also consulted about possible subsequent consequential changes to the relevant county division boundaries and raised no objections, and both affected County councillors expressed their support for the proposed boundary change.

A recommendation will therefore be put to a full meeting of Teignbridge Councillors to consider the following:

  • To approve moving the boundary between the parishes of Ogwell and Newton Abbot as shown in the consultation map.
  • To create a new polling district of Ogwell Cross which will form part of Ogwell parish.
  • To consult with the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) and ask them to approve consequential boundary changes between Ambrook and College district wards and Newton Abbot South and Ashburton and Buckfastleigh county divisions.

Therefore, until the consequential boundary changes are approved by the LGBCE, the polling district of Ogwell Cross, although in Ogwell parish, would remain within the College district ward and Newton Abbot South county division.

If you have any comments on these draft recommendations you can contact us by email 

Please head your email Ogwell CGR.

If you would prefer, you can write to us at: Electoral Services (CGR) Forde House Brunel Road Newton Abbot TQ12 4XX It is important that your views are submitted to us between Monday 30 May and Friday 8 July in order to be considered.

When this content has been updated

Last updated 30 May 2022