Electoral services

Show all parts of this guide

1. About electoral services

We play a key role in elections. It is responsible for organising and conducting elections, parish polls and referenda as and when required, which includes dealing with the following:

  • nomination of candidates
  • production of ballot papers
  • sending of poll cards
  • polling stations
  • recruitment of polling station and count staff
  • issuing and opening of postal votes
  • counting the votes
  • maintaining electoral statistics
  • registering people to vote
  • boundary reviews and the implementation of boundary changes
  • implementation of new legislation within statutory timescales

The district is divided into 24 district wards returning 47 District Councillors.

Teignbridge consists of 43 Town and Parish Councils returning 407 Parish Councillors.

Teignbridge District is then divided into 91 polling districts which are currently split between 2 parliamentary constituencies, Newton Abbot and Central Devon.