Cookies information uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Close banner

Electoral services

Show all parts of this guide

13. Elections on Thursday 6 May 2021

On Thursday 6 May, there will be the following elections;

  • Police and Crime Commissioner for Devon and Cornwall
  • Councillors to Devon County Council. There will be elections of one Councillor to each of the ten Teignbridge County divisions.
  • Town Council by-elections in Chudleigh, Newton Abbot (Bradley ward) and Teignmouth (West ward) which were postponed as a result of the coronavirus pandemic. There is also a by-election in Teignmouth (Central ward).

Wednesday 24 March - Notice of elections:

Thursday 8 April

Friday 9 April

Key dates

  • Deadline for receiving electoral registration applications is midnight on Monday 19 April
  • Deadline for receiving new postal vote applications is 5pm on Tuesday 20 April
  • Deadline to change existing absent vote arrangements is 5pm on Tuesday 20 April
  • Notice of Poll will be published by Tuesday 27 April
  • Deadline for receiving new proxy vote applications is 5pm on Tuesday 27 April
  • Polling day 7am to 10pm on Thursday 6 May


Throughout Teignbridge we will be taking steps to set up our polling stations in line with advice from Public Health England, Cabinet Office and the Electoral Commission to make them as safe as possible for voters to use. We will observe social distancing and require all those coming in to vote to wear face masks. We will also provide hand sanitizer and anything else deemed necessary and appropriate at the time.

There are other ways you can vote either through Postal vote or a Proxy vote.

We will update this page with further information as it becomes available.