Cookies information

We use cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Billing systems

Due to the annual billing process our Council Tax, Benefits and Business Rates systems are currently unavailable until Monday 4 March. We are sorry for any inconvenience.   

Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards (EPCs)

Show all parts of this guide

1. Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards (EPCs)

The Government introduced the Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards (MEES) in 2018. The regulations were introduced to improve the energy efficiency of hard to heat private rented homes, improving conditions for tenants and reducing fuel poverty.

The current regulations require Energy Performance Certificates (EPCs) for privately rented properties to have a minimum rating of E. The legislation prevents landlords from renting out property with ratings of F or G. This applies to new and existing tenancies.

The Government has MEES guidance for landlords.

The Government has committed to long term plans to improve the energy efficiency of privately rented homes. One of the proposed improvements is to raise the minimum EPC rating to C for new tenancies from 2025 and all tenancies from 2028.