Cookies information uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

May 2021

Show all parts of this page

When this content has been published

Published on 28 May 2021

New Council Chair elected

Councillor Colin Parker was elected as our new Council Chair at today's Annual Council meeting.

A town councillor since 2007, district councillor since 2011, and former Mayor of Newton Abbot, Cllr Parker has spent much of his life in the financial services industry but will be retiring this week in order to represent the council in this new role.

Cllr Parker said: “I am honoured and privileged to be elected to Chair of Teignbridge District Council.

“Rest assured I will treat the position with the highest regard. I commend Councillor Petherick on his year of Chair and related duties – throughout a difficult year of the pandemic, he has coped in a very dignified manner.

“We are now in a much better position than we have been for a long time, but I must stress caution. It will be a while before we all feel at ease with the situation.

“All through my life I have tried to treat everyone with whom I come into contact in a straightforward, respectful and fair manner. I will endeavour to continue this, and irrespective of our views, it is my expectation that all of us will follow similar principles.

“Thank you for putting the trust in me.”

Cllr Parker will announce his chosen charity for the year at the next full council meeting.

Elected as Vice-Chair for the year was Chudleigh Councillor Lorraine Evans, who said she was looking forward to supporting the council, and the new Chair, in the coming year.

Outgoing Chair Cllr John Petherick said the past year could be described in three words: ‘challenge’, ‘hardship’ and ‘crisis’.

He said: “This last year we have all adapted to new ways of working and lived our lives with stresses, lockdowns and virtual meetings. We have managed, but it will be a year we’ll never forget.”

Cllr Petherick paid tribute to the ‘commitment, professionalism and solidarity’ of staff during the past year, and thanked Democratic Services Manager Sarah Selway for her support during a difficult year, and his Chaplain Mark Jones.

Cllr Petherick said that the target set for his chosen charity, Teignbridge Community Transport Association, had been ‘exceeded beyond his wildest dreams’ – and thanked everyone who had contributed.

The position of Leader and Deputy Leader of Teignbridge District Council remain the same, with Councillor Alan Connett, and Councillor Alistair Dewhirst, continuing in these respective roles.