Cookies information

www.teignbridge.gov.uk uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about the cookies we use.

Waste and recycling collections

Some rounds are currently running behind schedule. Please leave your containers out and we will return as soon as we can. 

Local Plan Review 2040

Show all parts of this guide

2. What we have previously consulted on

  1. The Local Plan Review Issues Paper 2018 was available for consultation between 21 May and 16 July 2018. It set out the main issues affecting the District and those likely to affect it up until 2040. See below for documents.
  1. The Draft Local Plan Review 2020-2040 (Part 1) was available for consultation between Monday 23 March and Monday 13 July 2020. It contained draft policies to guide decisions taken on proposed new development. See below for documents.
  1. The Draft Local Plan Review 2020-2040 (Part 2) Site Options was available for consultation between Monday 28 June 2021 and Monday 9 August 2021. It contained possible residential, employment and education development sites. See below for documents.
  2. The Draft Local Plan Review 2020-2040 (Part 3) Although we previously asked for comments on residential sites as part of the Draft Local Plan 2020-2040 (Part 2) consultation, national government requires at least 10% of our housing to be built on small sites, of 1 hectare or less. This is to provide a range of site sizes to appeal to different types of developers/builders. Therefore, the Part 3 consultation focussed on some additional small sites for residential development, as well as sites for wind turbine and gypsy and traveller development.

You can view the Local Plan Review Issues Paper 2018:

You can view the Draft Local Plan Review 2020-2040 (Part 1):

Draft Local Plan Review 2020-2040 (Part 1) Maps

You can view the Draft Local Plan Review 2020-2040 (Part 2) Site Options: 

Chapter 1: Introduction 
Chapter 2: Development Strategy 
Chapter 3: Urban Renewal Site Options 
Chapter 4: Housing Site Options in the Heart of Teignbridge 
Chapter 5: Housing Site Options in the Coastal Towns  
Chapter 6: Housing Site Options in the Rural Towns 
Chapter 7: Housing Site Options on the Edge of Exeter  
Chapter 8.1: Housing Site Options for Villages (A-E)  
Chapter 8.2: Housing Site Options for Villages (I-Z)  
Chapter 9: Employment Site Options  
Chapter 10: Gypsy and Traveller Pitch Provision 
Chapter 11: Low Carbon 
Chapter 12: Secondary School Options for Newton Abbot 
Appendix 1: Saved Allocations 

Supporting documents

Full HELAA

Each possible residential site has been assessed and the individual site assessments can be found below:

Each site has been assessed and the individual site assessments can be found below:

Employment Sites

Urban Capacity

Urban Fringe Newton Abbot Area

Draft Local Plan Review (Part 3) - Renewable Energy, Gypsy and Travellers and Residential Sites Options – Consultation CLOSED

This consultation ran for 10 weeks from 15 November 2021 until 24 January 2022.

Although we previously asked for comments on residential sites as part of the Draft Local Plan 2020-2040 (Part 2) consultation, national government requires at least 10% of our housing to be built on small sites, of 1 hectare or less. This is to provide a range of site sizes to appeal to different types of developers/builders. Therefore, the Part 3 consultation focused on some additional small sites for residential development, as well as sites for wind turbine, solar and gypsy and traveller development.

The Draft Local Plan (Part 3) set out options for where different types of development could be located. The information included within the plan shows all of the development options that are available for public comment, including:

  • potential sites for wind turbines and solar,
  • a potential gypsy and traveller site and
  • potential small residential sites

Information also includes each of the different site options, including the proposed use, a map, and the sensitivities affecting each site.

No decisions have yet been taken as to where development might take place. The purpose of the consultation was to seek views on the options for development.

Consultation documents

The following documents were included in the consultation:

Draft Local Plan 2020-2040 (Part 3) – Wind Sites Options, Gypsy and Traveller Site Option and Small Residential Sites Options

  1. Introduction
  2. Renewable Energy – Wind
  3. Renewable Energy – Solar
  4. Providing for Gypsies and Travellers
  5. Small Residential Sites

Printable pdf version of Draft Local Plan 2020-2040 (Part 3) – Wind Sites Options, Gypsy and Traveller Site Option and Small Residential Sites Options

SA/SEA of the Teignbridge Local Plan

HRA of the Teignbridge Local Plan

Supporting Documents

All of the comments that we have received during this consultation will be considered, along with all comments that we have received during our previous consultations, and this feedback will help to produce the next version of the Local Plan 2020-2040. This version, which is called the “Proposed Submission Local Plan 2020-2040”, will combine Parts 1, 2 and 3 of the Draft Local Plan. When we publish this, we will also publish a Consultation Statement, which sets out how we have taken all of the comments we have received into account when preparing the Plan.

The Housing and Economic Land Availability Assessment (HELAA) is a catalogue of all the individual sites that have been assessed in relation to their development potential. 

Sites were submitted under the Call for Sites that took place in 2017 and 2018 for residential and employment sites, and more recently in 2021 for small residential sites and gypsy and traveller sites. The HELAA provides evidence for the Local Plan. 

We published the original HELAA (containing sites from the 2017 and 2018 Call for Sites) with our Part 2 Site Options consultation in June 2021. This can be found in Section 4 “What we have previously consulted on”.

The Small Sites and Gypsy and Traveller Sites HELAA contains assessments of the sites submitted during the 2021 Call for Sites. It also contains re-assessed sites from the original HELAA that were not included as a site option in the Part 2 Local Plan and that met the criteria contained in the Small Sites HELAA Methodology.

Small Sites and Gypsy and Traveller Sites HELAA

Small Sites HELAA Methodology 

Standard Model for Calculating Housing Rates

Local Plan Short Videos

If you want a quick tour of the Local Plan (Part 1) and each of it’s chapters, why not have a look at the short videos we’ve made:

A Quick Tour

The Local Plan

 

Chapter 1: Making Sense of our Plans

 

 Chapter 2: Sustainable Communities

 

Chapter 3: Climate Change

 Chapter 4: Design and wellbeing

 

 Chapter 5: Economy

 

 Chapter 6: Homes

 

 Chapter 7: Environment